The clock is ticking for Community Council nominations to be submitted in Stirling.

Last year, 30 out of 42 Community Councils successfully formed across the local authority area, establishing a formal tier of local democracy to represent the local people in their respective communities.

However, there were also 12 areas where sufficient numbers were not achieved. Some areas that missed out last time needed just one more person to stand for election and represent their community.

Just over 24 hours now remain for those areas to find representation, with the nominations process coming to a close at 4pm in Friday, 8 February.

The areas which have yet to form are:

  • Balquhidder, Lochearnhead & Strathyre
  • Buchanan
  • Drymen
  • Hillpark & Milton
  • Killin
  • King’s Park
  • Kippen
  • Plean
  • Riverside
  • Thornhill & Blairdrummond
  • Throsk
  • Torbrex

Cllr Chris Kane, convenor of the Community Planning and Regeneration Committee said: “This is the last chance to seize the opportunity in these elections to get involved and represent your community.

“Community Councils perform a vital role in a wide range of activities and issues like planning, consultations and budgets.

“With the deadline fast approaching, now is the time to act to give officers time to check everything is in order. Don’t leave it to the last minute!”

Vice Convenor, Cllr Maureen Bennison added: “There has been a positive response from some areas so far but there are places in Stirling that are set to miss out if they don’t act quickly.

“This is the last chance to make sure that doesn’t happen.”

Those wishing to stand to are encouraged submit forms as early as possible before Friday’s deadline, as this will ensure our election officers have time to check everything is in order and can help with forms.

Anyone over the age of 16 and on the electoral register for their community council area can stand for election and get involved in a rewarding role which will ensure communities have a voice.

Nominees need a proposer and seconder who both must be on the electoral register and live in the same Community Council area.

Further information, including boundary maps and nomination forms, can be found online.

Nominations must be submitted by 8 February at 4pm. Withdrawals must be made by Tuesday, February 12 at 4pm.

Rate this Page